Pumpkin Nom Nom

With a lot more time on my hands (despite the hours I spend scouring the web for freelance writing jobs), I have been killing it in the kitchen. After making some addicting pumpkin snickerdoodles last week with my dog Daisy staring at me hopefully the whole time, I stumbled upon a recipe for pumpkin dog biscuits.

Image

I went to Trader Joe’s in search of the brown rice flour the recipe called for–since apparently white flour is not very good for dogs–but couldn’t find any. Not even any gluten-free flour, which is pretty shocking. So, crafty person that I am, I bought oats and attempted to ground them into flour.

It was really annoying. It is times like these I wish I had a food processor…some day. I ended up using a cheese grater. I don’t recommend this method. Oh, and this is the face I get to look at the entire time:

“Are they done yet?! Can I eat them?!”

Image

I cooked them for a little less time than the recipe called for–I think it all depends on your oven and what you end up using for your flour substance. Don’t forget to get a cute bone-shaped cookie cutter! I got mine from Michael’s.

ImageVoila! Daisy loved them. It’s nice finding a baked good that I won’t gorge myself on and regret later. Although they did smell pretty good…

Leave a Reply

